The Hidden Hippie

Natural living from a glitter-loving punk

Getting Closer

Well…. it’s the middle of April now which means we are only a few weeks away from our last frost date!  I am so excited to get these puppies outside! My tomatoes are doing ok but only about half of them have their second ‘real’ leaves so far. I’ve been searching for the perfect spot to keep them but our house just doesn’t seem to want to be hospitable.  The living room is too cold, the teenager’s room was too out of the way (I kept forgetting to check on them!) and our room is too warm.  I decided they’re probably better off in our colder living room than roasting and wilting in our bedroom so they have made their way back to their first home.

My beauties re-potted into larger homes

I can't wait to eat this!

I had been planning on planting potatoes in tires (which I had read about online) but wasn’t totally set on it so we decided to plant them in an old Rubbermaid storage container.  James took to it with an awl and next thing we knew, we had a planter!

My fancy potato planter puts the new Williams Sonoma line to shame

My most exciting garden news this week is definitely that there are actual things growing outside in my garden!  Here are my first couple of pea shoots.  I know it seems silly to get so excited about them but I have never grown anything before in my whole life and these little guys are a huge success for me.  In addition to them, we also have shoots coming up from our purple and yellow onions as well as little sprouts of lettuce and spinach.

PEAS!!

Before I know it, there will be no peas left at all having been massacred by a toddler and two teenagers (and probably their dad too!)

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Getting Closer

  1. It’s not too silly to get excited about sprouting peas 🙂 It is EXCITING! There is an energy to gardening and growing things that you are picking up on…( I say this because I get a major rush everytime I see things begin to grow and sprout.) Our tomatoes are still in the basement under a grow light. Our last frost date isn’t until mid May. I repotted them a week ago and they’ve grown exponentially. Do you know what variety of tomato yours are?

Leave a comment